A pineapple and coconut sundae plus that vegantastic cooking competition recipe

February 28, 2011

 

Pineapple sundae

Our mediterranean selections all have a bag of dried pineapple this week which makes a great snack when you’re on the move. They’re plenty sweet with just a a nice bit of bite. Bitter dark chocolate  really brings them to life. There are various way to do this. Standing up in your kitchen with a bar of good chocolate in one hand and a bag of dried pineapple in the other. Not the most elegant way to go admittedly, but always works for me. Or, you can melt some chocolate and dip your dried pineapple pieces in it. Let the chocolate harden and you’ve got a very superior partner for your afterdinner coffee. I decided to go a bit further yesterday and made a sundae with vanilla ice-cream and toasted coconut. Super easy to put together and  sooooo good.  You can serve  it in some pretty bowls or glasses (I used my old cava ones from the flea market in Barcelona) and you’ve got a great end to any dinner party.  

Pineapple and Coconut sundae with dark chocolate sauce (for 2)

You’ll need:

5 dried pineapple rings cut into smallish pieces

2 tablespoons toasted coconut slivers (I get these in the Hopsack but if you can’t track any down desiccated will do fine, just toast it gently on a dry pan first)

Vanilla ice cream

For the chocolate sauce:

60gr dark (70%) chocolate

60ml single cream.

Make the sauce first by slowly melting the chocolate into the cream over a low heat. Stir well and take off the heat once things have mixed together and you have the consistency of double cream. Dish out the ice-cream, sprinkle the pineapple slices on top then pour over the chocolate sauce. Finish with the toasted coconut. There…. told you it was easy!

Last month’s vegantastic cooking contest organised by Fiona Hannon was a great success and raised a whopping €945 for Simon. The idea was simple. Anyone could enter and as many as 40+ did. On the night the “judges” (i.e. public)  paid a few euro to get in, taste everything then nominate a favourite sweet and savoury dish. Needless to say it was hectic on the night. For me there was the initial panic about whether I was well enough prepared or organised (I wasn’t but it was grand) then the whole thing got going and  I started serving up mini portions of my entry to all the judges.There was a lot of milling around, chatting about ingredients and having the craic. Chuck, Mary and Margaret came down to support me which was great as I was a bit nervous. I’ve obviously done a lot of cooking in my time but nothing like this. I had brought my camera but the whole evening just seemed to fly by and there wasn’t any time to take any shots. I only caught my breath when all the food was gone. So, the photos you see of the night were taken by Iain Nash.

The winner, when it was finally announced, was a shock. It was me! Wow – I really hadn’t expected that. I made off  with a fantastic bag of goodies from one of my favourite shops, The Hopsack in Rathmines. Organic coconut oil, raw chocolate (am now addicted), dried shitake mushrooms, a bag of Natasha’s granola and lots more……… Brilliant.  Mary Doyle won the sweet section with her amazing Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla Mini Cupcakes with ‘Cream Cheese’ frosting.

 

So, what did I make? Well, a brown rice salad. I know – doesn’t sound very exciting. It doesn’t even look like much.It’sthe dressing that really makes it -a moreish combo of  toasted sesame oil, lime juice and ginger. You can’t really fail with this mix can you? The other ingredients are a nutritionist’s dream – ripe avocado (lots of good oils) aduki beans (these guys cleanse the liver ) and sprouts.  When I say sprouts I don’t mean the brussels kind. These ones are basically seeds that have sprouted so they are still alive which means they’re packed with antioxidants which fight the signs of aging (always good!) as well as all kinds of phytoestrogens which help prevent cancer, heart disease,osteoporosis and menopausal symptoms. I used purple cress for the colour really but any kind will do. Alfalfa are probably the easiest to get hold of but you can of course make your own.

This salad is a doddle to put together especially if you’ve already cooked the rice.  As I’ve mentioned before, I usually cook rice  in bulk, about a kilo at a time, then use it to make all kinds of quick meals during the (usually insanely hectic) week. I like the shortgrained kind but feel free to use long grain or Basmati. Everyone always moans that brown rice takes all day to cook and yes, it does take longer than white but if you soak it first for about an hour (even 20 minutes will do if you’re short of time) the cooking time is halved and it makes it easier for your body to digest.

 

Brown rice and bean salad with avocado and sprouts with a toasted sesame, lime juice and ginger dressing (for one)

 You’ll need:

1 1/2 cups of cooked brown rice

1/2 cup of beans or lentils (I generally use adzuki beans but it’s really up to you)

1/2 red onion (white is fine I just like the colour of the red) chopped,

1 ripe avocado chopped,

1/2 tray sprouts

2 tablespoons of sesame seeds.

For the dressing:

1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil

1 tablespoon walnut or olive oil

1 tablespoon soy sauce or Tamari

1 level teaspoon of grated ginger

The juice of half lime (lemon is also great)

Begin by making the dressing. To do this simple combine all the ingredients, taste then add more lime juice if you think it needs it. To make the salad simply combine the rice, beans, onion and avocado. Toast the sesame seeds on a dry pan and mix them through. Dress and serve. If you want to make this in advance (it’s great for lunches) just leave out the sprouts and add them just before you serve.

 Enjoy and have a great week.

8 Responses to “A pineapple and coconut sundae plus that vegantastic cooking competition recipe”

  1. Lucy Says:

    Congrats on your win – that’s great. Always a nice surprise to win something, that recipe sounds great – I love anything with avacado in it. Now it’s srping I have a few trays of sprouts on my window sill

  2. Aoife Mc Says:

    Congratulations on winning the vegan bake-off! Brilliant stuff.

    I made your brown rice salad yesterday. Oh. My. GAWD. It was so delicious. I absolutely loved the sprouts and the purple and the greens together and holy moly, that dressing is incredible. I’m so using that dressing on steamed pak choi or (my new BFF) roasted broccoli. Mmm mmm!

    Thanks again for such a gorgeous recipe.

    • homeorganics Says:

      Thanks Aoife, it was really nice to win! That dressing is so addictive. I eat it with other things aswell. It’s great when something that tastes so good is actually good for you. Yay!!

  3. Jan Says:

    Congratulations Sarah!! I made your salad last night and it’s definitely a winner. well done


  4. […] I came up with combining an idea on 101 Cookbooks for pan-fried chickpeas and a fantastic dressing I picked up on Home Organics’ blog.  Best thing is this only takes about 20 minutes and is packed full of soothingly salty flavour. […]


  5. […] I came up with combining an idea on 101 Cookbooks for pan-fried chickpeas and a fantastic dressing I picked up on Home Organics’ blog.  Best thing is this only takes about 20 minutes and is packed full of soothingly salty flavour. […]


Leave a Reply

