Winter Warmer – Celeriac gratin with Gruyère and Bacon

October 27, 2012

Celeriac gratin

Ok, so it’s properly cold now. Gratin weather has begun and what better way to start than with celeriac. I’ve gone all out today, roast chicken in the oven, next week’s cake recipe just gone in and a diet busting gratin with Gruyère and lardons is just out, crispy and golden. Yum!!! Auggie and Dan reckon it’s time for lunch. But you  just had breakfast guys and it’s celeriac, something you (Auggie) said you’d absolutely NEVER eat (gotcha!!!).Yes, this is perfect food for a cold Autumn day……..

A celeriac gratin with Gruyère and bacon

You’ll need:

1 head celeriac

100gr lardons or any bacon you prefer diced

100gr Gruyère grated

250ml single cream

500ml chicken stock

1/2 lemon

1 large handful breadcrumbs

Squeeze the lemon into a bowl of water and have on standby before you begin. Trim the celeriac of the gnarly outside part. Next, cut in half then slice as finely as possible dropping the slices into the lemon water as you go (this stops them discolouring).

Heat the stock  then transfer the celeriac slices into it and bring to the boil then simmer until just tender.

Fry the lardons in a drizzle of olive oil until golden.  Transfer the celeriac and remaining stock  to a baking dish and toss with the bacon and half the cheese. Add the cream and a generous pinch of salt and grinding of black pepper. Top with the remaining cheese and breadcrumbs.

Bake in at Gas mark 5/180 degrees for 40 minutes until golden.

This tastes great with just about any roast and also makes a lovely supper with a simple green salad.

5 Responses to “Winter Warmer – Celeriac gratin with Gruyère and Bacon”


  1. Was wondering about a suitable cheese for a celeriac gratin I’m hoping to roast tomorrow, especially as I’ve never tasted it. One particular recipe suggested Feta – don’t think so. I might try the Gruyère instead.


    • Gruyère definitely works as would a decent Cheddar or Comte. I’ve used smoked cheeses aswell which have worked quite nicely. I often mooch my local cheese counter and taste a few before I try something like that . Generally I don’t think you can muck up a gratin too much although I’d be cautious with blue cheeses when cooking. Good luck!


      • Thanks for that info. I couldn’t get Gruyère in either of my local supermarkets so I ended up going with a smoked Cheddar with a hint of paprika as I’m going to use pinches of both cayenne and paprika. Shame I forgot to buy the lemon! So, it’ll be toward the end of the week before it’s cooked.


  2. Good cheese choice. Paprika sounds great too. I’m cooking with that a lot recently (not least because I own about 5 different types which need using up!!!) Had a look at your blog and it’s incredible!! Looking forward to checking it out properly. Hope the gratin goes well.


  3. […] Anyway, I was on the hunt for a cheese that would go with celeriac and found this post titled, Winter Warmer, that suggested Gruyère. Great! Until I realised that neither of the two local supermarkets I use […]


Leave a Reply

